John Tooby and Leda Cosmides Awarded Honorary Doctorates

May 1, 2019

John Tooby and Leda Cosmides have been awarded honorary doctorates from the Universidad Francisco Marroquín. Tooby and Cosmides co-founded the field of evolutionary psychology and co-direct the UCSB Center for Evolutionary Psychology. The doctorates honor their ground-breaking work in launching the field of evolutionary psychology.

Past recipients of this honor include Michael DeBakey, developer of the coronary bypass procedure and Presidential Medal of Science winner; Nobel Laureate for Literature Mario Vargas Llosa; Vaclav Klaus, former dissident and prime minister of the Czech Republic; José María Aznar, former president of Spain; Cuban poet and human rights activist; Viktor Frankl, the Viennese psychiatrist and author of Man’s Search for Meaning, and Jean François Revel, French philosopher.